Board Meeting Minutes November 10, 2021

Date: November 10, 2021

Time: 6:30 p.m.

Via Zoom:

The special meeting of the Transition Board of Directors of the Baltimore Children & Youth Fund, Inc. was held on November 10, 2021, via video conference. 


Board Members in Attendance: Dion Cartwright, Chair; John Morris, Treasurer; Kirsten Allen, Vice Chair; Julia Baez, Secretary; Catherine Benton-Jones 


Board Members Absent: Erika Seth Davies, Vice Chair; Jacqueline Caldwell; Earl El-Amin 


The Meeting was called to order by the Chair, Dion Cartwright, at 6:09 p.m.

Welcome & Review of the Agenda – Dion Cartwright, Board Chair

Cartwright welcomed the Transition Board of Directors and public to this special meeting of the
Baltimore Children and Youth Fund, Inc. (BCYF, Inc.).

Cartwright reminded the attendees of BCYF, Inc.’s purpose: to create new opportunities for the
city’s young people to learn, thrive and succeed. Cartwright also stated BCYF, Inc.’s status and
responsibility as a nonprofit organization stewarding public funds.

Cartwright stated the focus of the meeting: the selection process of a slate of candidates for the
permanent BCYF, Inc. Board of Directors.

Board Member Selection & Final Slate – Dion Cartwright, Board Chair and Dorcas R. Gilmore, General Counsel

Cartwright thanked the Transition Board for their work to support the selection process for
BCYF, Inc.’s permanent Board of Directors. She summarized the selection process thus far
and the next steps.

The application period was open for 3 weeks in October, during which time BCYF, Inc. held 3
information sessions, attended by a total of 78 people. It was mandatory for applicants to
attend an information session to be considered. BCYF, Inc. received 24 total applications, of
which 15 met the requirement. 


BCYF, Inc. Transition Board members conducted interviews of eligible applicants in early
November. Each interview group shared their top 2 candidates, creating a slate of 6 candidates
that was presented to the Transition Board.

Based upon Board’s selection criteria, each Transition Board member then selected 2
candidates from the pool, resulting in a final recommended slate. Cartwright stated that the
Final Board-Recommended Slate of Candidates would be shared and voted on during the next
Transition Board meeting on November 17, 2021.

In addition to this slate, the Transition Board is recommending 5 current Board members to
be a part of the permanent Board, bringing experience with building BCYF, Inc. into a race-equity focused organization, supporting its operations, and being champions of its vision and
mission. 5 additional youth members will be recommended from the Avis Ransom Institute.

Open Meetings Act Complaint – John Morris, Board Treasurer

Morris reviewed the Open Meetings Act Complaint, the Open Meetings Compliance Board Decision, and BCYF’s next steps

Adjournment – Dion Cartwright, Board Chair

Cartwright adjourned the Board meeting at 6:49 p.m. The next Board meeting will be on Wednesday, November 17, 2021, at 6:30 p.m. via Zoom.